Who is the thinking man?

The Thinker is a bronze sculpture by Auguste Rodin, usually placed on a stone pedestal. This figure represented Dante Alighieri, an early Italian Renaissance poet. Rodin depicted Dante reflecting on The Divine Comedy, his epic poem about heaven, hell, and the fate of all humankind.