What type of fat is in an avocado?

Avocados contain mostly monounsaturated fat, plus a small amount of saturated fat and polyunsaturated fat. Most of that monounsaturated fat is oleic acid, the same fatty acid found in olives and olive oil. This type of fat is considered to be very healthy.