What type of fat is in an avocado?

Avocados contain mostly monounsaturated fat, plus a small amount of saturated fat and polyunsaturated fat. Most of that monounsaturated fat is oleic acid, the same fatty acid found in olives and olive oil. This type of fat is considered to be very healthy.

---

Avocados contain mostly monounsaturated fat. Monounsaturated fat is one of the healthier types of fat, potentially lowering your risk for heart disease and high cholesterol as well as helping you control your blood glucose levels.