Do sardines have mercury in them?

Sardines are one of the fish lowest in mercury because they are very small. The bigger a fish, the older it is, and the older it is, the more time mercury has had to build up in its flesh. Sadly, there are trace amounts of mercury in almost all seafood, but the levels in sardines are extremely low.