Who plays maleficent in descendants?

Kristin Chenoweth. Cast as Maleficent in Disney's "Descendants" Tony Award-winning actress Kristin Chenoweth has been tapped to play Maleficent in the new live-action Disney Channel film "Descendants," about the children of iconic Disney villains, according to the Hollywood Reporter.