What is the nether minecraft?

The Nether is the second dimension in Minecraft, and can be accessed via the main Overworld using a Nether Portal. It is an extremely inhospitable dimension located completely underground, and has innumerable amounts of lavafalls that pool into the bottom of the Nether's biomes.