What war happened in nineteen forty four?

In 1944, World War 2 was being fought around the globe. Some significant events in 1944, included the Allies' D-Day invasion of Normandy, which was the largest ever amphibious landing, the end of the Siege of Leningrad, the liberation of Paris from German control, and the Battle of the Bulge.