Why are there so many creators on the moon?

According to astronomy.swin.edu.au, "Craters on the Moon are caused by asteroids and meteorites colliding with the lunar surface. It also has very little geologic activity (like volcanoes) or weathering (from wind or rain) so craters remain intact from billions of years."