Can you grow a pineapple from the stem?

Yes, you can grow a pineapple from the top. Remove the top by firmly grasping the leaves and twisting. Peel the leaves from 1 to 2 inches of the crown & let it dry for 1-2 days out of direct sunlight. Place the crown in a jar of clean, warm water, with only the leaf-free area submerged in the water.