Did fonzie jump the shark?

Yes. On an episode of "Happy Days" in the 1970s, Arthur Fonzarelli - aka "Fonzie" waterskiied up an incline and ski-jumped over a shark. The unlikelihood of his stunt became synonymous with going beyond the believable - hence the phrase "jumping the shark".