Who invented the tuna sandwich?

The tuna salad sandwich originated from an impulse to conserve. In the 19th century – before the era of supermarkets and cheap groceries – most Americans avoided wasting food. Scraps of chicken, ham or fish from supper would be mixed with mayonnaise and served on lettuce for lunch.