Who is chester copperpot?

Chester Copperpot was a scavenger hunter from Astoria, Oregon who went missing in the 1930s while looking for One eyed Willys treasure. The Goonies later discover his skeleton in the tunnels where he evidently triggered a booby trap that crushed him under a boulder and identified him by his wallet