What's the definition of a pressed?

Oppressed, spelled O P P R E S S E D, means to keep someone in subservience & hardship, especially by the unjust exercise of authority. To cause someone to feel distressed, anxious or uncomfortable. E.g. Oppressed people, or a system that oppressed people. Persecuted, maltreated, downtrodden, abused