How do i make fried onions?

Soak onions in buttermilk for 10 minutes. Add flour to a separate bowl. Season with salt and pepper and whisk to combine. Handle onions with tongs and toss in flour mixture. In a skillet add about 1” oil. When oil is shimmering, add onions and fry until golden about 2 minutes. Season with salt