What are the origins of the word malarkey?

Malarky replaced the word ackamarackus. Malarky is an Irish surname and the substitution is likely an ethnic slur as it was first used in 1924.

---

According to Oxford Dictionaries, malarkey is "meaningless talk or nonsense". It came into use in the 1920s and its specific origin is unknown. There is an Irish name — Mullarkey. But a connection from the name to the word hasn't been established.