What is the average salary of a major league baseball player?

Salaries range from 550,000 dollars for nearly 40 percent of the player pool, to 35 million dollars for the 850 plus players on opening-day rosters and injured lists. More than 50 percent of the league are millionaires, many of them multi-millionaires.