Where do alpacas originate?

Alpacas originate from South America and are bred from the wild Vicuna which is now a rare and protected species.

---

Alpacas are descendants of vicuñas domesticated by the Inca in the Andes Mountains between 6,000 and 7,000 years ago. Two breeds of alpaca, the huacaya and the suri, were developed in pre-Columbian times and kept by the Quechua people of Peru, Ecuador, Chile, Colombia, Argentina and Bolivia.