What is in an egg yolk?

The yolk, or yellow portion, of an egg makes up about 34% of the liquid weight of the egg. It contains all of the fat in the egg and a little less than half of the protein. The yolk of a large egg contains about 55 calories. ... All of the egg's vitamins A, D, E and K are in the yolk.