What do the initials s. o. s. stand for?

Some people mistakenly think the “SOS” in our name means “Save Our Souls”, “Send Our Succor”, or “Save Our Ship”. The original use of “SOS,” however, dates back to 1908 and the International Morse Code distress signal used with maritime radio systems.