How do you pick a good watermelon?

-Pick it up: Big or small, the watermelon should feel heavy for its size. -Look for the yellow spot: Watermelons develop a splotch where they rest on the ground. When this splotch is creamy yellow, it's ripe. -Give it a thump: Tap the underbelly of the watermelon.