What is g. m. o. in food?

G M O stands for "Genetically Modified Organism". This means the plant or animal has been genetically altered in a lab via genetic engineering or transgenic technology. Alfalfa, corn, cotton, papaya, corn syrup, animal products and potatoes are often genetically modified for higher crop yield.