What is the definition of reaping?

1a(1) : to cut with a sickle, scythe, or reaping machine. (2) : to clear of a crop by reaping. b : to gather by reaping : harvest. 2 : obtain, win. intransitive verb.

---

Reaping is the gerund or present participle of the word reap, which means to cut or gather, as in a crop or harvest, or to receive a reward or benefit as a consequence of one's own or other people's actions. Synonyms include harvest, garner, receive, obtain.