Can i freeze a whole onion?

It is not recommended as the freezing damages cell membranes.

---

according to getty stewart.com, yes you can freeze a whole onion but,Freezing whole onions is not recommended,It is best to cut onions before freezing,If you want to freeze whole onions, you need to blanch them,boil them in hot water for about 7 minutes or until the very center is heated through.