When was cereal created?

The first cold breakfast cereal, Granula, was invented in the United States in 1863 by James Caleb Jackson, operator of Our Home on the Hillside which was later replaced by the Jackson Sanatorium in Dansville, New York.

---

In 1863, James Caleb Jackson, who ran a health resort, invented the first cereal, which he called “granula.