Where did the term a murder of crows come from?

This more poetic term for a flock of crows can be traced back at least to the 15th century when it was recorded as a murther of crows. Murther is a variant of Middle English murthre 'murder,' though the th sound had begun to be replaced with a d around 1300 C.E.