Who invented the yankees?

The New York Yankees were founded in 1901 and managed by John McGraw. The team originally played in Baltimore under the name of "Baltimore Orioles" but relocated to New York City in 1903 under the name of "New York Highlanders". They adopted the name "Yankees" in 1913.