When were v. h. s. tapes invented?

in 1976 japan introduced the first home use VCR player, and in 1977 the united states saw the first consumer available home VCR. this would be useless without VCR tapes, so tapes were made available as well. as the market grew, there would be a whole industry on VHS tape production and recordings.