Does baking go bad?

As long as baking powder is kept covered and remains dry, it will remain safe to use since the shelf life of baking powder is really indefinite as far as safety is concerned. ... To test if baking powder has gone bad, put a teaspoon in a half cup of hot water. If it bubbles, bake away