What happened in nineteen fifty four?

In 1954: End of McCarthyism, public school segregation ruled unconstitutional, Ellis Island closed, Social Security bill funded, hydrogen bomb test conducted on Bikini Atoll in Pacific Ocean, Elvis Presley's career began, words "under God" in US Pledge of Allegiance signed into law.

---

In 1954 the Supreme Court ruled on Brown versus the Board of Education stating that segregation in public schools is unconstitutional, Hydrogen bomb tests were conducted on Bikini Atoll in the Pacific Ocean, and the first mile run completed in less than 4 minutes was accomplished by Roger Bannister.