What happened in nineteen fifty four?

In 1954: End of McCarthyism, public school segregation ruled unconstitutional, Ellis Island closed, Social Security bill funded, hydrogen bomb test conducted on Bikini Atoll in Pacific Ocean, Elvis Presley's career began, words "under God" in US Pledge of Allegiance signed into law.