What happens when milk freezes?

Milk will expand when it's frozen, so be sure to leave room in the container so it won't burst! After you have frozen your milk, it can be thawed in the refrigerator or in cold water and is safe for consumption. However, be aware that the flavor and texture of the milk may be affected.