What's the scientific word for tree?

A tree is a perennial plant with an elongated stem, or trunk, usually supporting branches and leaves. In some, definitions of a tree may be narrower, including only woody plants with secondary growth, plants that are usable as lumber or plants above a specified height. Names can vary per species.