What is south seven?

The South Seven Conference is a high school athletic conference comprising schools in the southern Illinois. The South Seven was formed in 1939 when Centralia and Mt. Vernon joined Marion, Benton, Harrisburg, Herrin and West Frankfort (hence, the name of the conference since it only had 7 members).