When did the wave originate?

The wave was created by "Krazy" George Henderson on October 15, 1981 at the televised A's vs. Yankees playoff game in Oakland. The Washington Huskies claim to have invented it some two weeks later. They still stand by this claim even though there is video proof of the contrary