What was world war one fighting about?

Archduke Franz Ferdinand was assassinated by a Serb. Austria declared war on Serbia, the Russian allied with Serbia. Germany declared war on Russia for helping Serbia. Germany declared war on France and Belgium. Britain ordered Germany to withdraw from Belgium and the Germans did not listen.