What is the twenty meter pacer test?

The beep test, also known as the PACER test or PACER (Progressive Aerobic muscular Run), the 20 meter Shuttle Run Test, or the multi-stage fitness test, is a running test to estimate an athlete's aerobic capacity (VO2 max).