Who wrote the song sometimes i feel like a motherless child?

"Motherless Child" is a traditional spiritual song that dates back to the slavery era in the US. It is unknown who wrote it, and has been performed by many singers over the years. Richie Havens sung a popular rendition of the song at the Woodstock music festival in 1969.