What is a high jump in track?

The high jump in track is a competitive sport where contestants attempt to jump over a high horizontal pole without touching it with any part of their body. The current men's world record for high jump is 2.28 m ( 7 ft 5+3⁄4 in) held by Valeriy Brumel of Russia.