How heavy is a cargo ship?

Panamax ships are sized for the Panama canal prior to 2016 with lock chambers measuring 1,050 ft (320.04 m) in length, 110 ft (33.53 m) in width, and 41.2 ft (12.56 m) in depth. This was increased to neopanamax over 14000 TTU

---

The heaviest cargo ship was the Seawise Giant. She displaced 275,276 Gross Tons. The largest containerships are the MSC Megamax class which weigh 232,618 gross tons.