What is nervous leg syndrome?

Nervous or restless leg syndrome is a condition characterized by a nearly irresistible urge to move the legs, typically in the evenings. Restless legs syndrome typically occurs while sitting or lying down. It generally worsens with age and can disrupt sleep.