How do you ferment grapes?

Most grapes have natural yeasts on their skins, so crushing them to extract the juice starts the process - but - you won't have a lot of control over it. Centuries of winemaking says it works. The other way is to "lightly" pasteurize the juice and add a known wine yeast - more consistent.