Why did they put coins on dead people's eyes?

In Greek mythology, coins were sometimes placed on the dead's eyes to pay passage across the Styx River. In other cultures, coins and other small objects were sometimes used simply to keep the eyes closed.

---

To pay the ferry man to carry them over the river styx