What is a dolly animal?

Dolly, a female Finn Dorset sheep that lived from 1996 to 2003, was the first clone of an adult mammal, produced by British developmental biologist Ian Wilmut and colleagues of the Roslin Institute, near Edinburgh, Scotland.