Why are dogs cute?

Dogs evolved over time to share food and shelter with humans. Many of the dog breeds exist for the specific ways they could help humans have a better life, such as flock guardian, herder, drafting and sled-pulling. Humans developed the breeds to please the eye and do the job so dogs ended up cute.