Is there such thing as a male cow?

There is no such thing as a"male cow". A cow is a female exemplar of a Bos subspecies and a bull is the male exemplar of that subspecies. The word cattle signifies the plural for these critters. There is another word “steer" that identifies a former male of a Bos subspecies.