What happened december eighteenth nineteen ninety six?

On Dec 18, 1996, Iranian Deputy Foreign Minister Abbas Maleki stated that Iran supports the free flow of oil through the Strait of Hormuz, but reserves the option of closing off the shipping route if it is threatened and the US TV industry execs agreed to adopt a ratings system