Do you vacuum or dust first?

Professional housecleaners recommend dusting first, as many dusters, sprays, and cleaning wipes knock a not-insignificant amount of dust onto the floor rather than trapping or collecting it. Vacuums typically have built-in filtration systems that prevent particles from escaping.