How big can a cookie be?

A cookie can contains data upto 4096 Bytes only that is the maximum size of a cookie which can be. If you want to support most browsers, then do not exceed 50 cookies per domain, and 4093 bytes per domain. That is, the size of all cookies should not exceed 4096 bytes.