How do bees have babies?

7 days after incubation the queen flies outside the hive to mate with 8-12 drones in midair. She then stores the drone spermatozoon in the spermatheca and excretes nutrients for the survival of almost 7million spermatozoa that last the rest of her life. The queen then lays and fertilizes the eggs.

---

The life cycle of all insects, including honey bees, begins with eggs. During the winter season, a queen forms a new colony by laying eggs within each cell inside a honeycomb. Fertilized eggs will hatch into female worker bees, while unfertilized eggs will become drones or honey bee males.