How do you trim an artichoke?

Use kitchen shears to trim 1/4 to 1/2 inch off the thorny leaf tips. Peel the stem with a paring knife or cut off the stem completely if you want the artichoke to sit flat. Rub the cut parts with a lemon half to prevent browning.