What do fire ants look like in nc?

Fire ants have a reddish-brown color with visible antennae. They range in size from 1/8” to 3/8.”

---

Fire ants look like ordinary red ants, whether they live in North Carolina or another state. If you look closely, however, which you probably shouldn't do, you will see that they have a stinger on their black abdomen parts. They also have powerful jaws to bite with.