How long did it take to catch the nightstalker?

About sixteen months. Richard Ramirez, known as The Nightstalker committed his first murder on June 28, 1984. He committed 13 more during the early part of 1985. He was arrested on August 24, 1985. He was convicted in 1989 and died of cancer in prison in June 2013.